The Premier Baseball Social Network for Players, Coaches, Scouts, and Umpires
If you're an umpire, join here!
Latest Activity: Feb 26
Started by Michael Paes. Last reply by Robin Mackey Aug 3, 2014.
Started by Bill Stanton. Last reply by Perry Lee Barber Apr 9, 2014.
Started by Michael Paes. Last reply by Michael Paes Mar 15, 2014.
Started by Perry Lee Barber. Last reply by Perry Lee Barber Jun 27, 2013.
Started by Michael Paes. Last reply by Michael Paes Jun 18, 2013.
Started by Michael Paes. Last reply by Kip Gross May 11, 2013.
Started by Steven Dumont Sr. Last reply by Jack Frandsen Nov 29, 2012.
Started by Kip Gross. Last reply by Mike Greene Nov 23, 2012.
Started by Michael Richards. Last reply by Michael Richards Nov 23, 2012.
Started by Dave Holt. Last reply by Michael Richards Nov 22, 2012.
Stray thought after watching Sportscenter top ten. Is there anything in the rules preventing a pitcher from using a softball style windmill delivery? Not sure it could be done from the stretch, I am surprised no one has tried it, with the speed and movement softball pitchers get.
I know Satchel Paige and others windmilled at the start of their deliveries, but it wasn't done for momentum, like the softball delivery.
I wanted to post a video of my leadoff plate appearance in the MSBL World Series at Tempe Diablo Stadium last year but it exceeded the 100mb limit. That is because I struck out by taking 6 straight balls. It should have been a shorter video exept for the fact that the umpire in order to speed up the game called more strikes than he should have. Three more in this at bat. Why do umpires believe that a large strike zone speeds up the game? The only thing poor umpiring like this does is hurt the desire to ever fork out 100s of dollars to participate in tournaments. In the video you can see the catcher move further outside with each call. You also can see the umpire lean over to the outside every time the catcher moves. One person did not move to get to the outside pitch and that was me, the batter. The plate did not move either but for some reason, the umpire and the catcher had their own little cute game going on. After going 3 and 1 on the first four pitches out of the zone, why did the catcher continue to move further away? He knew something that the batter was not aware of. Why would the pitcher want to walk the lead off hitter? Why would he not throw at least one pitch over the plate? The catcher and the umpire conspired to cheat me out of my at bat. Call it what it is. It is cheating.
Thanks, guys. I thought it was a timing play. Now I know it is a time of pitch not at time of violation. Oh, well, we won anyways.
Absolutely correct, Kip and Larry. interference on the batter/runner, the ball is dead, and no runners may advance or score on the play. From The Official Baseball Rules: Rule 2.00, Definition of Terms, Interference: If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference,all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of theumpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwiseprovided by these rules.Rule 2.00 (Interference (a)) Comment: In the event the batter-runner has not reached first base, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch.
Not a time play, David, no way. The batter/runner who interfered with a fielder in the act of fielding a batted ball is out, the ball is dead, and all runners must return to the base they occupied at the time of the pitch. Like Larry said, keep it simple!
if the interference happens before the runner gets to 1st base the runner has to return to 3rd base.
Hi David. Let's keep this simple. A run can NEVER score on runner's interference!!! With less than two outs, ALL runners must return to base occupied at time of pitch. In your case, 3 outs and run does NOT count. If there were one or no outs, your runner should be sent back to 3B.
I had a runner on 3rd and broke on contact. Batter hits a chopper right down the 1st baseline and collides with the pitcher fielding the ball. We all know the batter is out for interference and deadball. I tried to argue the run counts since he crossed the plate before the violation therefore he does not go back to 3rd since it is a timeing play.
Does anyone know the correct rule?
Welcome toCheckSwing!The Premier Social Network for Baseball Players, Coaches, Scouts, and Umpires
Join CheckSwing!or Sign In
Or sign in with:
Get My Badge
Added by Jake Pulcheon
Added by Justin McClure
September 7, 2014 at 11am to September 7, 2015 at 2pm – WALTHAM,MA.
http://WWW.HENRYSBASEBALLCLUB.COM 781 891 0621 WE HAVE HAD SUNDAY BASEBALL FOR THE LAST 39 YEARS. BEST TO CALL AND TELL US ABOUT UR BASEBALL SKILLS. SUNDAY BASEBALL THE FIRST 18- 24 PLAYER'S GET TO…
Organized by HENRY MUNEVAR | Type: sunday, recreational, baseball, 781, 891, 0621
March 5, 2015 at 9am to March 27, 2015 at 7pm – Houston, Texas and South Houston, Texas
The Pecos Spring League is the number one showcase for Undrafted Free Agent and Rookie Baseball Players. 64% of players in the 2014 Season Got Offered Spring Training Invites. This is the highest per…
Organized by Andrew Dunn/Bill Moore | Type: pecos, spring, league
May 25, 2015 at 1pm to August 15, 2015 at 7pm – VMarlins Park
We have started the World Baseball League in the USA and in Europe. We have three different summer programs for your baseball athletes; one for freshman/sophomores; May 25-June 26, one for upper clas…
Organized by VMarlins | Type: baseball, league
© 2015 Created by Kyle Grucci.
Report an Issue |
Terms of Service
Please check your browser settings or contact your system administrator.