The Premier Baseball Social Network for Players, Coaches, Scouts, and Umpires
Bases loaded no outs and a groundball to second baseman. This is littleleague and of course the runners are on the bag until contact, but a new player never left second and the player running from 1st to second is tagged out by the second baseman. I know there is no longer a force out in front of the runner tagged any longer but does the kid on second have to make an attempt or can he just stay where he is? I believe he can stay and not make the attempt but wanted clarification. I love this…Continue
A curve hits the ground before the plate, the batter, fooled, loses his balance, steps on plate without swinging, and gets hit by the ball.
a) Should he get first base because he was hit by pitch?
b) Is he out because he entered the field of play with the live ball striking him?
c) Is it a dead ball and is ruled a ball?
Let me know your thoughts because I never had this come up and I am getting a lot of different feedback. Very grey area.