"You are correct on this one, I'm a left handed pitcher and picked off two base runners on third this year from the wind up. As soon as you step off it's a simple 45 degree turn and throw. Just let the runner get comfortable with his…"
""Mr. Umpire, this game is being played under protest. You are wrong."
If there is a runner, or runners, it is a balk when --
(b) The pitcher, while touching his plate, feints a throw to first base and fails to complete the throw;"
"I had a similar situation this past weekend. A lefty pitcher came set and stepped towards first, but did not throw. I argued that it was a balk. The field umpire agreed, but the home plate umpire said it was legal, just like a right-handed pitcher…"
"Any pitcher can throw to 1st before he comes set. I can't believe any umpire would call this a balk. As for teaching your 13 year olds tell them to stay on the base until the pitcher sets.
"Yes, a righty most certainly can, assuming he steps toward third base. The major reason that righties don't use this move is where is the runner going to go? He's probably not going to steal home. So don't risk a bad throw to third or…"
Enjoy the site and have fun making more baseball connections. Join your State Group, publish your thoughts in your status, add a blog or discussion, and upload some photos and videos. Please invite your current and former teammates to join the baseball player community here. Just click the "Enter Email Addresses" button on the Invite page.
No comments yet!
Welcome to CheckSwing! The Premier Social Network for Baseball Players, Coaches, Scouts, and Umpires