The Premier Baseball Social Network for Players, Coaches, Scouts, and Umpires
A curve hits the ground before the plate, the batter, fooled, loses his balance, steps on plate without swinging, and gets hit by the ball.
a) Should he get first base because he was hit by pitch?
b) Is he out because he entered the field of play with the live ball striking him?
c) Is it a dead ball and is ruled a ball?
Let me know your thoughts because I never had this come up and I am getting a lot of different feedback. Very grey area.